Coming This October…

Hey guys!

Just a quick post today letting you know about the books I’m most excited for this October. It looks to be such a good month for releases! I’m definitely feeling the spooky vibes with a few of them, and I think my most anticipated read has got to be White Tears/Brown Scars by Ruby Hamad. And because we try not to support Amazon on this blog, you can find the links to Waterstones, Hive, and the Book Depository on each of the books listed!


Witch, Finbar Hawkins | 01.10.20

After witnessing the brutal murder of her mother by witch-hunters, Evey vows to avenge her and track down the killers. Fury burns bright and strong. But she has promised her mother that she will keep Dill, her little sister, safe. As the lust for blood and retribution rises to fever pitch, will Evey keep true to the bonds of sisterhood and to the magick that is her destiny?

Set against a 17th Century backdrop, Hawkins explores the power of women, witchcraft, fury, revenge and the ties that bind us.

YA / Fantasy | 252 pages
Hive – Book Depository – Waterstones


Over the Woodward Wall, A. Deborah Baker | 06.10.20

Writing as A. Deborah Baker comes a new world from Seanan McGuire. The book follows Zib and Avery, two children who might live on the same street but exist in entirely different worlds. Both are exceptional in their own way, Avery, because he is precise and ordered, Zib, because she is unpredictable and wild. 

Despite their differences, their worlds collide when an unexpected detour on the way to school sends them climbing over a stone wall and into a strange new world full of wonder and mischief. 


YA / Fantasy | 208 pages
Hive – Book Depository 


I Hope You’re Listening, Tom Ryan | 06.10.20

Ten years ago, Delia “Dee” Skinner witnessed the abduction of her best friend. She told the police everything she knew, but Sibby was never seen again. Now at 17, Dee deals with her guilt by becoming someone else, the voice behind true-crime podcast Radio Silent, which features missing persons cases and works with online sleuths to solve them. 

Nobody knows Dee’s the Seeker, and she plans to keep it that way.

YA / Mystery / Thriller / LGBT | 368 pages
Hive – Book Depository


The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, V. E. Schwab | 06.10.20

One of the most anticipated books of the year! France, 1714: In a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever – and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. So begins, a dazzling adventure across centuries and continents, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man who remembers her name.

Fantasy / Historical / Romance |  448 pages
Hive – Book Depository – Waterstones


This Winter, Alice Oseman | 15.10.20

A short novella based on the beloved characters from the graphic novel Heartstopper and Alice Oseman’s debut novel Solitaire, which was praised as ‘The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age’ by The Times.

The festive season isn’t always happy for Tori Spring and her brother Charlie. And this year’s going to be harder than most.


YA / Contemporary | 144 pages
Hive – Book Depository – Waterstones


White Tears/Brown Scars, Ruby Hamad | 22.10.20

For readers of Layla F. Saad’s Me and White Supremacy and Reni Eddo-Lodge’s Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race,White Tears/Brown Scars is an explosive book of history and cultural criticism that reveals how white feminism has been used as a weapon of white supremacy and patriarchy deployed against Black and Indigenous women, and women of colour.

With rigour and precision, Hamad builds a powerful argument about the legacy of white superiority that we are socialised within, a reality that we must all apprehend in order to fight.

Non-Fiction |  304 pages
Hive – Book Depository – Waterstones


Silver Sparrow, Tayari Jones | 22.10.20

James Witherspoon has two families, one public, the other a closely guarded secret.

This is the story of a man’s deception, a family’s complicity, and the two teenage girls caught in the middle. James Witherspoon has two families, one public, the other a closely guarded secret. But when his daughters meet and form a friendship, only one of them knows the truth. Theirs is a relationship destined to explode.


Fiction |  368 pages
Hive – Book Depository – Waterstones


Spot any books your interested in checking out this month? Let me know what’s your most anticipated read for October in the comments (as if my tbr isn’t big enough)!

Holly x

One thought on “Coming This October…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s